School Work

PC Advi112014

Description
pc mag
Categories
Published
of 148
All materials on our website are shared by users. If you have any questions about copyright issues, please report us to resolve them. We are always happy to assist you.
Related Documents
Share
Transcript
  6 BEST 802.11AC ROUTERS EXPERT ADVICE    YOU CAN TRUST PLUS   POWER BOOST: HOW TO MAKE YOUR GADGETS LAST LONGER FASTEST EVER WI-FI   Wireless coverage all over your home Best laptops, tablets, smartphones & printers for students PLUS:  THE TRUTH BEHIND CLAIMED ROUTER SPEEDS TESTED Get up to 1900Mb/s BACK TO SCHOOL BUDGET GAMING PCs   Powerful rigs from just £439 ISSUE 232 NOV 2014   NEW HOSTING TOP APPS NOW EVEN BETTER! DOMAINS | MAIL | HOSTING | eCOMMERCE | SERVERS COMPLETEPACKAGES Starting at £ 0 .99 per month*excl. 20% VAT  * 1&1 Hosting packages with 30 day money back guarantee. 1&1 Basic £0.99 per month for 1 year with 12 month minimum contract term, paid in advance, then regular price applies. Prices exclude VAT. Visit www.1and1.co.uk for full offer details, terms and conditions. Rubik’s Cube ®  used by permission of Rubik’s Brand Ltd 1and1.co.uk 0330 123 0274 TRIAL TRY FOR 30 DAYS 1  MONTH SHORT TERMCONTRACTS 1 CALL SPEAK TOAN EXPERT 1 WordPress and more with 1&1! ■  Easy installation with 1&1 WP Wizard ■   1&1 Expert App Support 24/7 ■  Evaluation version for all applications ■  Security notifications and automatic updates ■  Up to 2 GB RAM guaranteed ■  Optimised for WordPress and over 140 more apps (Drupal™, Joomla!™, TYPO3…) Powerful Tools ■  NetObjects Fusion ®  2013 – 1&1 Edition included ■  1&1 Mobile Website Builder ■   PHP 5.5 , Perl, Python, Ruby, ASP.NET and more... Successful Marketing ■  1&1 SEO Pro ■  1&1 Search Engine Marketing ■  Facebook ®  and Bing ®  credits ■  1&1 Newsletter Tool State-of-the-Art Technology ■   Geo-redundancy  for maximum availability ■  Over 300 Gbit/s network connectivity ■  1&1 CDN powered by CloudFlare ®  with Railgun™ All Inclusive ■  Free domain for package lifetime (.co.uk, .com, .net...) ■  Unlimited power: Webspace, Monthly Traffic, E-mail Accounts and MySQL Databases  WELCOME JIM MARTIN  November 2014 www.pcadvisor.co.uk   3 here was a time when it was fashionable to have the smallest possible mobile phone. Back in 1999, Nokia released the iconic 8210. It was absolutely miniscule – you could almost fit two of them in the palm of your hand, and it weighed a feather-like 79g.The five-line monochrome screen may have been tiny, but it was the keypad that caused the real problem as you had to press the buttons with your nail to avoid hitting more than one at a time.Since then, phones have grown bigger and bigger: the srcinal iPhone’s 3.5in screen seemed huge at the time but compared with the raft of today’s massive Android and Windows Phone handsets, it looks and feels like a toy.I’ve been using a Nokia Lumia 1320 for the past couple of months and, as regular readers will know, it’s been a dual-purpose test. One reason for ditching my usual iPhone was to try and live with the limited selection of Windows Phone apps and find out how they compared to the equivalents from Apple’s App Store. The other was to discover whether a phablet offered the best of both worlds or not. With its 6in screen, the 1320 sits somewhat unevenly between my 4in iPhone 5 and 9.7in iPad Air and – in theory – could replace both. Initially, the big screen felt enormous – just as you’d expect – and the extra screen real estate meant there was either more content on the screen (web pages, for example) or everything was just a lot bigger (Windows Phone’s menus). Even though the screen’s 1280x720 resolution is lower than the 1520’s full-HD display, you don’t really notice the lower pixel density in Windows Phone 8.It’s surprising how quickly you get used to making phone calls with such a big device – it doesn’t take long to stop feeling self-conscious as there are so many other people carrying big phones now.Comparing the 1320 with an iPhone 5 proved trickier than expected as Windows Phone is so different from iOS. Had the comparison been between the iPhone 5 and a theoretical 6in iPhone, I’m sure I’d have come to a different conclusion. As it was, I couldn’t wait to put my SIM back in the iPhone and go back to having both an iPhone and iPad. Partly that was because I still preferred iOS to Windows Phone, and partly because I wanted to be able to use the apps that I couldn’t get on the 1320.The main reason, however, was because a 6in screen just wasn’t big enough to replace the near-10in screen of the iPad Air. Those more used to using a 7- or 8in tablet might find the compromise acceptable, but I prefer to have the choice of a much larger screen for web browsing and a small screen for use on the move rather than being stuck with only a phablet. For me, then, the trial has proved that a phablet can’t replace my smartphone and tablet, but I miss the Nokia’s large screen now I’m back to squinting at desktop-style web pages on the iPhone 5. By the time you read this, the iPhone 6 will have been announced: hopefully the rumours are true and I’ll be able to upgrade to a big-screen iPhone before the year is out. J Can a 6in phablet replace a smartphone and tablet? What do you think of this issue of PC Advisor? We welcome feedback – email Jim Martin at  jim_martin@pcadvisor.co.uk  and include the issue number in the subject heading Editor  Jim Martin jim_martin@idg.co.uk Group Managing Editor  Marie Brewis marie_brewis@idg.co.uk Art Director  Mandie Johnson mandie_johnson@idg.co.uk Production Editor  Rob Woodcock rob_grant@idg.co.uk Multimedia Editor  Dominik Tomaszewski dominik_tomaszewski@idg.co.uk Consumer Tech Editor  Chris Martin chris_martin@idg.co.uk Senior Staff Writer  Ashleigh Allsopp ashleigh_allsopp@idg.co.uk Technical Editor  Andrew Harrison reviews@idg.co.uk Associate Online Editor  David Price david_price@idg.co.uk Associate Editor  Karen Haslam karen_haslam@idg.co.uk Associate Editor  Neil Bennett neil_bennett@idg.co.uk Forum Editor  Peter Thomas moderator@idg.co.uk Editor-In-Chief  Matt Egan matt_egan@idg.co.uk Contributors Mike Bedford, Michael Burns, Alex Campbell, Martyn Casserly, Martyn Clayden, Stephen Dean, Cliff Joseph, Aryeh Klien, Tim McVeigh, Steve May, Alec Meer, Paul Monckton, Robin Morris, Jared Newman, Mikael Ricknäs, Agam Shah, Lisa Snider, John Taylor, Roland Waddilove, Iain White, Simon Williams Advertising Head Of Advertising  Tom Drummond tom_drummond@idg.co.uk Account Manager  Edward Longmate edward_longmate@idg.co.uk Account Manager  Julian Tozer julian_tozer@idg.co.uk Account Manager  John Woolley john_woolley@idg.co.uk Marketing Marketing Manager  Ash Patel ash_patel@idg.co.uk Head of Marketing Design  James Walker james_walker@idg.co.uk Marketing Software Manager  Letitia Austin letitia_austin@idg.co.uk Subscriptions Customer Services  pcadvisor@subscription.co.uk Online Online Development Manager  Adrian Black webmaster@pcadvisor.co.uk Web Developer  Victor Chong Junior Developer  John Copsey Web Developer  Dominik Koscielak Accounts Financial Director  Chris Norman chris_norman@idg.co.uk Credit Controller  Dawnette Gordon dawnette_gordon@idg.co.uk Management Accountant  Parit Shah parit_shah@idg.co.uk Publishing Publishing Director  Simon Jary sj@idg.co.uk Managing Director  Kit Gould kit_gould@idg.co.uk Subscribe online: tinyurl.com/subscribepca Subscribe by phone: 0844 844 0232 Subscribe to digital editions: pcadvisor.co.uk/magazines Subscription enquiries: pcadvisor@servicehelpline.co.uk Living with a phablet PC Advisor is published by IDG UKIDG UK, 101 Euston Road, London NW1 2RA. Tel: 020 7756 2800 Printer: Wyndeham Press Group Ltd 01621 877 777Distribution: Seymour Distribution Ltd 020 7429 4000 No material may be reproduced in whole or part without written permission. While every care is taken, the publisher cannot be held legally responsible for any errors in articles, listings or advertisements. All material copyright IDG UK 2014 T CWODD12 issues£37.99£35.88Six issues£24.99£19.99Europe (12 issues)£100£100Rest of world (12 issues)£125£125 ISSUE 233 ON SALE 15 OCTOBER 2014  4   www.pcadvisor.co.uk  November 2014 CONTENTS 34 3 Welcome26 New Products120 Cover Disc+124 Subscribe146 Outbox REVIEWS 6  Latest technology news 10  Cyberpolicing comes of age 11  New surveillance laws 12  Shooting stars 13  Privacy concerns 14  Generation tech 15  Is time up for Surface Pro? 16  Gateway to your kingdom 17  Open source 18  ARM core wars 19  Heartbleed reveals flaws 20  Motorola is back 22  Microsoft to speed up Bing 24  Samsung’s ailing fortunes 25  LTE in Wi-Fi spectrum FEATURES & GROUP TESTS TEST CENTRE 72 NEWS & ANALYSISREGULARS & OFFERS SAV E 50% Subscribe to PC Ad visor and SEE P AGE 124 HARDWARE 32 Toshiba Satellite S70-B-10N33 Chillblast Helix34 Apple 21.5in iMac with Fusion Drive36 Toshiba Satellite P50T-B-10K37 Asus Fonepad 7 LTE38 Apple 13in MacBook Pro with Retina display40 Apple 15in MacBook Pro with Retina display42 ZTE Blade L243 Samsung UE40H64044 Asus Radeon R7 25045 XFX Radeon R7 24046 Synology DS415play47 Harmon Kardon Esquire48 Group Gear USB charging plate 48 ScrewFix LAP 13A 2-Gang USB charger49 Inateck UC500149 Powertraveller powermonkey extreme 12V50 BioLite CampStove51 Freeplay TUF Radio52 Adobe Photoshop CC 201454 Adobe Illustrator CC 201456 Magix Audio Cleaning Lab 201457 Nuance Dragon Naturally Speaking 13 Premium APPS 58 Best TV guide apps for Freeview60 Civilization Revolution 2 BUSINESS 61 Dell Precision M280062 Optoma EW40062 Microsoft All-In-One Media Keyboard63 Canon DR-M1060 BUDGET GAMING PCS 66 Chillblast Fusion Spartacus66 Cyberpower Infinity Apollo Pro67 Dino PC Magmadon GTX 750 Ti67 Scan 3XS Performance GT68 Wired2Fire VX-669 Yoyotech Warbird RS5 WIRELESS ROUTERS 74 Apple AirPort Extreme 802.11ac74 D-Link DIR-880L75 Linksys EA690075 Linksys WRT1900AC76 Trendnet TEW-818DRU76 Netgear Nighthawk R7000 64  Budget gaming PCs 72  Wireless routers 80  Back to school 87  Power your kit 90  Make HD phone calls 93  Android L vs iOS 8 96  Why is my Wi-Fi so slow? 101  Manage your money online

cuci tangan 1

Jul 23, 2017
We Need Your Support
Thank you for visiting our website and your interest in our free products and services. We are nonprofit website to share and download documents. To the running of this website, we need your help to support us.

Thanks to everyone for your continued support.

No, Thanks